Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-01-10 - 4:54 p.m.

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece



Consult Cover and Pole Saltaire are new on the Widget. I had a haircut today. The RN charts are confusing at the moment - we seem to be at 27 in the national classical chart and also at 48 in the London classical chart. Either position is very welcome but they are hardly consistent. I had a look at some other artists in the 20s on the national chart and they are not like us. I downloaded another MG mp3 from the bedroom sessions and shared it round.

The Artsadmin mailing led me to a year long festival on the South Bank featuring 20th C music. On 20 Jan at 1 pm there is a super recital which includes Berg's Piano Sonata, Schoenberg's 3 and 6 pieces and Debussy's Masque. I didnt know about this last piece but it turns out I have the score. It is from 1904 and at one stage looked as if it was going to be one of three pieces in a set - like Images or Etampes. The piece is in 6-8 and has a recurrent theme in C. It s about 5 minutes long. Some commentators say that it reflects tension in D's life as he left one partner and moved on to another.

previous - next