Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-10-31 - 9:31 a.m.

Wrestled with my digital hub last night - some successes. I got the Dhorn talking to the portable PC via USB. I concluded that maybe I could beat the latency issues in recording MIDI by using the onboard sounds of the Dhorn against the base track I was recording into. I put some organ onto the Wellformed Cube and mixed back to a Wav which I have kept. Lots of things didnt work - either at all or properly. The MIDI out via the USB into my old PC and its AWE32 card was utterly bizarre - switching patches en masse whenever it encountered a programme change message. One thing at a time.

I have a different set of clicks on my Minidisc USB interface when it goes into the portable from the set that I get when its plugged into the Dell - I have messed with loads of parameters but do not seem able to get the artefact - I believe that is the technical term - to shift. Graham told me that in Ford when a manufacturing process problem is sorted, the final phase is to reproduce the problem and eliminate it again. Thats ambitious.

As I drive through one of the Woottons to work - there are several around Warwick - I pass a genuine thatched cottage which is genuinely being thatched.

I slept for a long time again.

previous - next