Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-10-30 - 9:20 a.m.

Rather an inactive evening � I haven�t got a TV but if I did it would have been an evening to slump in front of the set. I didn�t have much urge to straighten out the Cube. Maybe I am still attached to Adam P � as I write I am listening to him played through the AWE32 and then my Virtual Sound Canvas. The AWE32 is sometimes accused of being thin but for many kinds of music this an asset. You don�t always have to be phat in my view. It would be nice if I could bare that in mind in the quantities I eat but when you are cooking for yourself its hard to make small portions.

That�s my excuse � maybe if I get a microwave it will help.

One of the many pluses of working at Industry Forum is the provision of corporate orange juice � it makes it sound like a primary school. Anyway it means that you can consume something largely beneficial most of the day rather than endless cups of coffee. I have decided to start the day with Earl grey rather than coffee as well .

I am getting a bit frustrated with the extent of direction coming from my boss � I suppose it means I am free to follow my own interpretation of the task � something which normally suits me.

I have realised that I have three parallel versions of Adam P � and I am not sure which one I like most. Maybe I will assign a different synth to each.

If I put the Cube to one side the next thing that comes up is a phrase from Debussy�s first Arabesque. I have always had a soft spot for this earlier stuff that relies quite heavily on secondary sevenths. This is very true of the introduction to this piece.

On the domestic front � I have managed to detatch the drying cycle from the rinse cycle � a major step forward in getting my clothes drier. Even so the Drier God has begun to demand the sacrifice of lone socks to emphasise my dependence on her whims for my continued participation in civilised life. Not an orginal thought but a true one nevetherless

Still haven�t worked how to get the temporary tyre off my car and replaced by a good one. But I notice I am not the only person driving round Warwickshire in this state.

Gilbert and I exchanged e-mails about CDs in in the post.

I posted some material on www.kwase-kwaza.org which I got off the Globalwatch technical site which I learned about last week at the Summit. The AIDS newsgroup mailed through about an Economist article on Intellectual Property Rights which I posted and mailed Peter Chatterton about � he said he found it very informative.

I got the flute out for the first time in Leanington � had a crack at Rav�s Pav au Bois � I think this might be up Gilbert�s street � also tried to play the Cube � maybe this will rescue the piece. Time to move it onto the PC?

Welcome Ricardo

previous - next