Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-07-30 - 10:29 a.m.

Weather indifferent and I don't care. Anyway I have a surn-burned leg. The two girls have wet suits and are having wind-surfing lessons as I write. Last night we went to a Bingo session at the Scillionian club - all in the name of entertainment. Actually I quite got into the mathematics.

I have got as far as working out the probability after N numbers have been drawn that my set of 15 numbersis not amongst all the sets of 15 amongst the N numbers drawn. If there are P people playing then you raise that probability to the power of P. I did it for 60 numbers drawn and the number of people (approximate) playing last night - it was of the right order of magnitude. The game tended to finish after 50-65 numbers had been drawn.

Went to a smaller wilder island yesterday - Bryher. I managed to do three drawings including experiments with a new technique - water soluble pencils. Vita thought the wsp one was best. I quite liked the chalk pastel one.

Suppose a piece is a set of instructions which enables a player to perform something. Not necessarily always the same things. On that basis I have made a piece here - at the moment it is for solo flute/picollo. But I think a harmony instrument may be able to join in. In one sense it is a serial piece. One of the things I like about this piece is that you can play it in your mind without having an instrument in your hand - this kind of practice might actually make the piece better. We shall see.

I have a mini-score with Bach's two and three part inventions with me also the Goldberg variations. I am thinking of reviving something I did on the C minor 2partinv.

Time for a quotation from Shelley Walia of the Punjab University:

"In Shakespeare, the East would stand for gratification of the senses, sexual desire and oblivion from the affairs of the world, the sum of which is embodied in Cleopatra. Rome in contrast stands for teh edifice of trust and respectability and empire. Anthony torn betweem West and East enters into a political marriage with Octavia but cannot give up Cleopatra who makes hungry where she most satisfies."

previous - next