Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-08-01 - 9:08 a.m.

Vita, Emma and Yvonne have gone for a SCUBA lesson. V & Y have done this before three years ago. Y was a bit concerned about it nonetheless. The teacher looks very reliable. My job is to prepare a nourishing supper.

Turning to Laforgue for guidance I find the following, "Our I, is it perhaps isolated from its environment, preserved from being Everything, or from being Anything Whatever, rather as the movement of my watch is in my waistcoat pocket? It is no use appealing to memory - it gives much more evidence of our variation than our consistency. In our desires, regrets, researches, emotions and passions and even in the efforts we make to know ourselves, we are the toys of absent things - which don't even need to exist to act upon us."

I changed my style yesterday - using water soluble pencils has made a big difference to the way I represent things here. From a rather expressionist approach based on pastels - both chalk and oil-based - more delicacy has emerged. I am not sure this is a good thing. The watersoluble colours when worked with a wet brush easily turn into washes. Anyway its new to me so I will go with it for a while.

Yesterday I was sitting on Tollis Island which is on the South Eastern corner of St Marys. I was on the highest point near an eroded piece of granite which worked its way into the painting/drawing. Afterwards I could see how in the 30s organic forms began to find their way into B Hepworth's stuff. She had this wonderful house in St Ives which you can still visit - in fact its a must if you are in the area.

I have been listening to Feldman's Hidden Symmetries. I very much like the end of the first half where he settles on a whole tone scale in the flute part. In fact I have been thinking about the wholetone scales myself. There they sit - the two of them. If you take one note from each - an adjacent pair - and swap them then you get two extracts from a minor scale - the ascending melodic minor. Of course each scale is missing a note - one scale misses the tonc, the other the second.

I have been dipping into Henry Cowell's Resources for New Music which I bought in Boston. Can't imagine why I haven't read more of it earlier.

Today I have booked a haircut. Maybe I will have number two clippers this time.

The girls enjoy having a flat to themselves - they make it very clear we are not to outstay our welcome. Apparently they go for late night runs round the island in pursuit of "fitness". Is this some kind of pun I wonder?

James has the whole house to himself back in Gfd. He says he feels as if he is rattling around in it. He is still in a state of suspended animation between exams and results although he has, I hear, managed to buy some petrol for the car.

I feel the picollo is coming on quite well. Maybe I will even stick some of it in a composition. I am missing the recording gear of course. Maybe I will read about the Hegelian Marxist theory of the novel today while the rest of the party explore the undersea world.

previous - next