Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2014-01-06 - 2:26 p.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


On the lower widget there is a new tune - Mitterand would sometimes binge in the meadow. The new Tumblr blog is on this URL and it has several new pieces posted in the last couple of days.

http://iaincblog.tumblr.com

Yesterday I went to the Gladstone Arms in Borough. My first visit although they have music three times a week. I chatted to Sophie J about the xmas break before her solo set - her first of the year. Later in the month at the Slaughtered Lamb SJ will appear as a quartet with the addition of drums.

The main act was Whiskey Moon Face made up of accordion/vocalist, string bass, violin and trumpet.There is quite a strong kletzmer influence even though they write a lot of their own material. Sometimes the clarinet replaces the trumpet although I liked the contrasting voices when the violin and trumpet trade licks. I would like to hear WMF again. The Gladstone has music on Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays. I wrote to Richard Jones suggesting that one of his bands might get a gig at the venue.

.