Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-04-01 - 9:17 p.m.

I found a supermarket that stocks The Wire � whats more it has an artscentre nearby and the artscentre has a bookshop with a big philosophy section. I bought some De Greuze and some pasta � and three short introductions � which were on offer � three for the price of two. I also got a book on Trust on the company but I paid for the rest myself.

Over a pint in the bar I broused the Very Short Introduction to Art Theory where Kant rubs shoulders with Danto on Warhol � I got that one in Dearborn along with the very thorough Coltrane biography. Hope this bundle proves as fruitful as that one. I think I also got Fred and Zorn that time doing Spaghetti Western music.

I was really tempted by Rush Rhees on an anorexic French Jewish saint who starved hersekf to death in Kent towards the end of the 2nd world war � Simone Weil. Rush Rhees was very close to Wittgenstein in Cambridge and I think he edited one of the great works. Simone Weil is amazingly hard work � worse than Kierkegaard and fairly similar � having her refracted through religion as a language game can only make her more intelligible. It was the biggest philosophy section I have seen for a long while.

Why does the company invest in Trust? Well if you look at the Society of Automotive Engineers standard on introducing lean engineering then trust is the first item. You can only get lean production to work in conditions of trust amongst the team. I had a really good meeting with the research director of Latham this morning � an organisation which does collective research on behalf of the insurance industry on automotive issues. If most car repairs are funded by insurance companies then they have an interest in making sure that cars are built so that they are relatively cheap to repair.

The issue of trust came up in the following way. Relationships between car manufacturers and their immediate suppliers are not always characterised by trust. Ford in particular has a bit of a problem on that score, The French have gone in the other direction and indeed this may be a factor in their alliance with Japan � Nissan with Renault and Peugeot with Toyota in the new factory in the Czech republic. The Japanese do trust well � too well actually � at the expense of profitability.

The first requirement for trust is security � cf the British Army in Iraq. If relationships between car manufacturers and suppliers become too volatile then security suffers and trust suffers. If trust suffers then skilled people from the industry migrate to other sectors with better security. That's why the chap from Latham has moved into insurance from being the technical director of a supplier. I decided that the firm needed to develop some trust "grand theory" to find ways of sustaining its skills base in conditions of economic turbulence.

The first thing I learned was that: trust plus sacrality equals faith - an interesting start. So can trust survive in a society where people interpret their interaction with others in terms of roles? Eg if I think: I am a manager so I must be nasty to people to get them to execute my will (but as this is only an act I put on to earn money for my family it doesn�t really count)? If I have faith is there an obligation to sustain trust in all the roles I assume? However transient?

Gilbert mailed. Sounds like he has some really good stuff on the first two NYC tunes. One of things I bought today was De Greuze on repetition. Need I say more? The answer is probably �yes�. Well its repetition and difference. If A is followed by A is the second A different? Is ita variation � is it a development? Should we say A1 is followed by A2 � even if A1 is the same as A2 except that it happens first?

You might say that live musicians will never play A1 the same as A2 however good they are. A composer might write he instruction �second time play it almost the same as the first but not quite.� I�m sure you get the drift.

I decided I need more exercise � so I started the day by playing long notes. Good for the muscles round the mouth and the lungs. Doesn�t do much for the rest but it�s a start! Long notes are very very inspiring/expiring.

I listened to Kraftwerk today � I think I am almost a compete convert. Also to Princes� greatest hits � no question there.

The Wire has an article on Fluxus music � this definitely includes all the Lamont Young 1960 pieces. Four Fifths is in some way a hommage

previous - next