Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-08-24 - 5:54 a.m.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio3/world/akbackporch.shtml

This site has some mp3s from Phil Lawton the retiring Radio 1 archivist - it includes some thoughts about ND airshots and also a few musical clips. Its not quite clear whether these clips are airshots. Anyway I mailed him with a few extra thoughts. Did I mention that writing about Bryter Later - album and tune - has made me more sure that the tune was one we played? Maybe I did - anyway at this stage these memories are pretty unreliable.

I just heard Dionne Warwick's "Walk on By" on Jazz FM. The first thought was how extraordinarily tight the opening syncopated groove is. The second was how odd it is in the arrangement that when the tune actually gets to the relative major from the opening minor the arrangement becomes so histrionic - exactly what you wouldn't expect - "break down and cry" in the major. This was the first pop single I bought. It was in those nice Pye red and yellow colours - the same as the Pye R&B series came in.

On the strange history of Bacharach the Hutchings bio mentions that the Fairports did one of his songs - My Little Red Book - and that is not one that I can bring to mind.

The August feeling seems to have permeated everywhere. I can't get in to administrate kwaze-kwasa.org - I have mailed Peter and I think he must be away. The rate of posting to this site has fallen. The stats from kwase-kwaza are down although I can take comfort from the global reach they show - decent volumes from Australia and Canda also France and Belgium.

Also I have lost my Webern string quartet scores - I am pretty sure I put them in a safe place - but which one?

The whole idea of scanning self created images is growing in potency in my thinking. I have some portraits - several of my daughter Vita, one of my father, one of my son James, one self portrait. Also the idea of creating local images and marketing them seems to be an idea waiting to happen.

previous - next