Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-08-25 - 8:08 a.m.

I woke up and decided to play with some images � a couple of drawings of Vita before she went to school, the image of me of my DTI security pass and a multiple of this I did a few years ago plus a photo of Steve and myself playing bebop in the White Hart � I guess some time before 1980. I quite liked the results � I tried to make something a bit like an early British modern jazz album cover.

Jake and I went to the newsagents to pay the papers while I listened to Alice Coltrane and Pharoah Sanders recorded at the end of the 1960s � quite earthy but with some abstract edges and really good.

So I was set up to try �Approximately Four Minutes� which I took down to MD off the older PC and Cubasis. I remixed the stereo with a certain amount of spatial phasing and plugged the Dhorn into the Vamp � some amp settings I had been getting to like on the guitar. Then I went the whole hog and plugged the Shure in and put some flute on � I think the impedance on the Shure (which is adapted to sound-card) quite suits the Vamp. So I now have three versions of AFM which I am digesting. The flute was most extreme � an American Blues Amp quite heavily driven on the gain setting and a longish and quite prominent delay plus reverb � it threw up some interesting phrasing possibilities. Its not quite the first time I have done this � I put some very closely miked flute onto some Debussy once via the Korg Pandora on quite a distorted setting and was very taken with the results. The Vamp seems to have quite a future as an instrument channel. I rounded off this phase with a further extension of the underlying series � two bass lines � I can feel this pulling away.

Vita got interested in the picture editor and asked me how to get started on a project. I showed her what little I know. She started work editing some pictures of NYC.

I went into Gfd and sat in a corner of St Mary�s and started to sketch. I am not sure whether this first one is worth pushing or whether I should just treat it as a sketch.

I am still learning about the amazing transformations that you can do with the software. The power on offer is astonishing � but I suppose that�s what the digital world is like.

In HMV�s current sale I came across a couple of Miles Davis albums reduced. Big Fun is a double with music from 1969 � 72 and Seven Steps To Heaven is the first studio album to have any Herbie Hancock or Tony Williams. I listened to an extraordinary 30 minute piece from BF � it sounded so contemporary- but also related to the Nefertitti approach whereby the horns stick to a theme and the �backline� improvises.

previous - next