Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2014-02-15 - 3:52 p.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece.


On the lower widget there is a new tune - So Happy Again I will be ringing.

I have been looking at the Violin Concertos some more. The Bruch doesnt have sonata form for the first movement. I found a commentary for the Brahms online and followed through the narrative. Both the Beethoven and the Brahms are complicated constructions with two plus themes and both the orchestra and the violin exploring the structures. It will take me some time to hear the structure without commentary and I cant help concluding that the sonata narrative isnt what is meant to hold the audience's attention. I also listened through the Razumovsky no 2 first movement concluding that the sonata narrative is also quite complex even in that tighter form. It dates from the same time as the VC. I have loaded the first movement onto the BB to replace Bartok 2.

I have also been listening to the single album from theaudience which dates from the late 90s. I prefer SEB's mannerisms in that more conventional context I think. The album still has some avid fans. The obvious comparison is Static and Silence. I have also bought SEB's new album Wanderlust but I dont think it will grow on me much. It has been quite successful it seems. I have bought two Jimmy Giuffre Trio albums from 1961 which are excellent.Steve Swallow is still a teenager. The latenight Valday Romcom about two students in Vienna for a night had a piece by Fred Frith in the score which I bought and sent to PW.

.