Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-09-04 - 4:36 p.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


On the lower widget there is a new tune - Yellow and Ginger Jubille.

Yesterday Pete C and I met up at the Troubadour. I played there a couple of times when I was 18 with Linda Thompson and then Dorris Henderson. Yesterday I discovered how close it is to Earls Court Tube. Joe McKee was on first and I talked to him afterwards about his Gretsch guitar. He said that sometimes he uses a Fender Twin from 1974. I listened to his Soundcloud recordings which to my ears were rather better than his solo performance.

The Sophie J trio were on next and they had to struggle with both some indifferent mixing and a few members of the audience who wouldnt keep quiet. The material came across as much more anguished than it sounded eg at the Strongroom. The third act started as a singer at the piano and then morphed into a band. Not all that interesting to be honest. The Troubadour is very convenient for getting home quickly.

I am 1000 words into the next article. I have to work out what my conclusion is going to be.


previous - next