Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-05-25 - 11:02 a.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


There are two new pieces on the Widget above - Secretarial 43 and Winking.

Last night my jazz teacher, Owen Bryce was on BBC4 in a programme about the rise and fall of traditional jazz in Britain from 1940. OB was in at the start in the George Webb Band. He spoke about the impact that Humphrey Littleton had when he appeared just after the war. Kenny Ball also emerged as a very able musician.

I discovered that the Crane River Jazzband, an early post war band had started about a mile and a half from where I lived.

The different schools were marked out. Some like Ken Colyer wanted to go back to the earliest New Orleans music before the emergence of Louis Armstrong. Others were prepared to a play slightly less authentic trad style. Chris Barber went in the blues direction - his wife Ottelly Patterson sounded fantastic.

When I was a teenager I would go to Osterley Jazz Club to hear this music. In fact I once did a floor spot there with Linda Peters. I saw Louis Armstrong's pianist there - and Ron Geeson.

Yesterday I lunched with MR at St Pancras. Looking at her book I stumbled across care based ethics - something new to me.





previous - next