Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-04-29 - 12:53 p.m.

A video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

Another video from Didier using a GI-IC piece

A new video from Didier using a GI-IC piece


On Saturday nite I went to RFH to hear LPO play compositions from between 1934 and 1940. The first item was the youngest - Webern's Op 30. The last time I heard W's orchestral music was when London Sinfonietta played Concerto for 9 Instruments in February. I thought this piece was very formal. Op 30 is also famed for its formal organisation but the LPO brought out the romantic dimension. I was very impressed with both the piece and the performance. I have since bought the mp3 for 60p - not quite such a good performance.

The main piece in the 1st half was Berg's Lulu Suite. I have this on record but had not seen it performed. It is a vast orchestra including piano, vibes and sax. Great to hear music on this scale live. Barbara Hannigan provided the vocal episodes. Unfortunately there is not that much in the Suite but she gave a clear impression of her take on the part. The first sung section is Lulu's assertion of her right to be what she wanted to be. She asserts her identity and dismisses the idea that she exploited anyone or anyone exploited her. The second section is from the Countess, her last lover and affirms the power and beauty of Lulu. I really cant wait to hear the whole opera.

In the 2nd half the music took the form of two opposed string orchestras bridged by percussion. Martinu's piece was first- a piece I didnt know which sounded great on a first hearing. The concert finished with Bartok's famous piece. Again I was struck by the contrast between live performance by a top class orchestra and a recording, the former being so much better.

My ticket was �30 for row FF so not that close but certainly money well spent.

Elderly is new on the upper Widge and the Bird and Bee thing has just joined the lower Widget.




previous - next