Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2012-11-22 - 8:44 p.m.






Hunger and Audition are new pieces. We think they sound different so do give them a try.

Today I went to the last of the three Song in the City recitals devoted to Debussy songs. This programme was about Debussy and other composers - including Stravinsky, Satie, Ravel, Messaien and more. The pianists played the piece for 4 hands, En Bateau. I performed this piece in an arrangement for flute and piano in Guildford a few years back and so it was a special treat to hear it in its original format.

Faure's and Debussy's setting of Clair de Lune were played one after the other. Even though Debussy was in his early 20s when he composed his setting I preferred his version.

The big discovery for me was the first of Ravel's 3 Mallarme Poems - Soupir. It came about because Ravel was working on a project with Stravinsky who told him about Schoenberg's Pierrot Lunaire. PL also inspired Strav's 3 Japanese Lyrics.

I have downloaded a master's thesis on 2 of the 3 poems and also the piano score. The original composition was for a medium sized chamber group. Soupir starts with a Reich like pentatonic pattern with 2s against 3s. It also has chromatic and octotonic passages.

I have just got a call to say that the project I worked on in September has come off.

previous - next