Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-01-10 - 5:23 p.m.

Someone sent me an invitation to Chamber.com - it comes on quite strong but I can't tell if it delivers. Writing to Mark P I got into the issue of the overlap between the Indian scale and the octotonic. Only Bb and D aren't in the Indian scale - and Bb is a note Mark slips into the Indian scale. I am less clear about the status of D. The Indian scale is covered by the octotonic except for the tonic - C - which is quite an enticing state of affairs. The bear was around and quite creative - leaning in the direction of 60s jazz.

I sent Mark and Gilbert an mp3 of the piece that is currently called Mark. I also have sent mixes of two of the three items Gilbert sent yesterday - Contours and Test. Ambient is on the crippled laptop and getting it off will be an undertaking. I am rather hoping that mp3 I sent Gilbert will be good enough if he sends it back to me. It looks like Rob is up for PolyP in Kings X on Thursday which is great news. Paul B mailed about a visit to Brill tomorrow. There was an exchange with SKOPE on a set of reports from the Smiths Institute which cover manufacturing in each region - I got this lead from Linkedin. The bear showed up at lunchtime - the smell of the food I suppose. There was a message from Detroit. I watched some of Mark's vids.

http://www.markpavey.com/#/videos/4535420399

and asked him to resend his wife Alana's artwork site. There was an intriguing invitation from the Big Society.

Some interesting new plans were launched here:-

http://www.bis.gov.uk/assets/biscore/enterprise/docs/b/11-515-bigger-better-business-helping-small-firms.pdf

The bear turned up again about teatime and then he disappeared so I switched to Grooveshark. I played the original Yardbird Suite recording. We played this at Nick Brown's memorial event in Corpus Christi chapel - I think this might well be my last public appearance.

I listened to side 2 of Jack Johnson whereas I normally do side 1 - side 2 is as brilliant too.

previous - next