Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-12-22 - 12:15 a.m.

I hear James and Louise got back to the UK before the airports were disrupted so I sent him a text. I listened through the recent pieces � there is one I have sent which isn�t up to scratch plus one I haven�t sent.. I cant get the bear out of bed � maybe it�s the snow making him think it s time to hibernate. I played the first two books of Ligeti�s Etudes wondering if they would push me in any direction. I looked up Michael Best having eventually remembered his name as a theorist of competitiveness. The Ligeti didn�t inspire and so I moved on to Cage�s 16 Dances � the first record I bought in the US. It is one of Cage�s earliest experiments with chance methods � imusic with a lot of empty space. For some reason I don�t understand I have never properly got to know this music. I looked up the Future Agenda, backed by Vodafone, and mailed it to a couple of people.. There was a Christmas message from the Persian Gulf which I replied to. I played around with two basses trying other timbres and then by chance I recovered the development I did yesterday. After a lot of messing about I made an mp3 using the same notes but with sine waves � then I mixed the sines and the basses together making the sines a 5th higher. � or should it be a tritone? I went for the latter and mailed the result to Gilbert. I discovered that I still have Alvin Lucier�s Panorama.. Time for another disc clean-up. Gilbert sent three recordings for recent pieces � YesNo, Electro and Two Bass. I set the files up for mixing � probably best done in daylight. I sent a message to Detroit.

Dr Z has been busy � including a post which sets out the best places he has visited in the last decade. There are some other weighty philosophical items. I watched the Savoy programme and the Ray Davies profile. He did say that he wrote You Really Got Me on the piano � strange but true. Great film of early gigs. Then the Furtwangler film I did a first mix on YesNo and mailed it to Gilbert � his harp line is excellent.

previous - next