Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-12-06 - 12:29 p.m.


Bear made a good start with Emmie � a live version from one of the later piano performance albums with backing singers. Soon he followed up with Lullaby of Clubland which I like a lot � and then rather cleverly he played some Robert Hood minimal techno. Gilbert mailed about various items � his second concert went well and was filmed. The sound engineer from the concert is going to give him more advice.. The bear played Biscuit � I think he was making a point about me switching off LFM to listen to my CDs. I mailed Bette an article by Andrew Rawnsley. The bear played a track off Trane�s complete Atlantic recordings � it is 7 discs for just under �60 but it is an amazing period of development � then he went to a live MD version of Human Nature..I didn�t feel like starting any new pieces. The bear came up with a Single from Walking Wounded which is almost pure triphop. I put on MD�s Live Evil disc 1 � there isn�t so much time between this and FdeK � around two years. Gilbert came up with the idea of using lute on the smooth piece, Before. I switched to Vanessa Daou�s Dear John Coltrane.

The new album has got a cover now

http://www.last.fm/music/Gilbert%2BIsbin%2B%2526%2BIain%2BCameron/Ten+from+2010+plus+four


And we are working on other stuff straight away � some electric guitar based pieces and the smooth tune, Before, which Gilbert has put some lute onto � not what I was expecting. I went onto Travelogue � it�s a glorious retrospective � I used to listen to it driving up and down the M40. It is serious music � partly this is the orchestrations, partly the pitch of the voice, partly the selections. It isn�t pretentious somehow. Lots of e-m traffic today including a good synoptic report on UK competitiveness.

Maybe I have messed up my hifi speakers playing electric gtr through them?

previous - next