Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-10-18 - 9:59 p.m.

I was listening to one of my newly accessible LFM stations when a track from The Paul Simon Somgbook came up � an album I owned decades ago. The opening acoustic lick was very familiar and then the voice told me what it was in a rush of nostalgia. It seems that PS for a long time didn�t like the way these solo recordings sounded compared with the later Simon & Garfunkel harmony treatments.

Jon Cole and Laurence mailed about Clive Bell. Gilbert seems very interested in CB too. PW didn�t like M Collings on Raphael. There�s a long piece with wawa Dhorn I am not too sure about � there will be plenty of time this week to change it. Eventually I got the bear settled and picking tracks including some old faves like Dreamtime, This Old Heart of Mine, Rhythim is Rhythim and Alexi Murdoch�s Orange Sky sounding strangely familiar. I read Alison Stephens� website. The bear pulled up some Taeko Kunishima which sounded pretty good. I left her a shout on her LFM page about the Friday performance. Then appropriately the bear played MD�s Time after Time. Jules Holland asked Cindy Lauper last week how it felt to have written a MD classic � answer pretty damn good. Then Esthero � another funny girl. Spooks wasn�t quite so good as usual.

previous - next