Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-10-16 - 4:33 p.m.

Ray�s Jazz Caf� in Foyles is to use a phrase of Miss M, in the Boho Zone. There�s a sign on Charing X Rd to indicate the separate entrance in Foyles frontage and you climb up three floors via a scruffy staircase. There are wooden benches and tables and chairs and a stage with a PA in one corner. It looks as if students from the nearby St Martins School of Art frequent it and there is a smattering older people. Lots of people are working on their laptops. Coffee is reasonably priced but if you want a beer you have to buy some food as well. I looked round Foyles afterwards esp the music section but I didn�t see anything to catch my eye � in particular I couldn�t find a book of HH jazz transcriptions although there were some of Bill Evans. That part of London has gradually moved out of the BZ � there are hardly any music shops left on Charing X Rd and even Turnkey has moved on. Macari�s is about the only one left and I never really liked that place. Its probably different in Denmark St but I didn�t go and look there. I wrote to PW, PB and JC about the event.

I don�t think the fourth version of the octotonic piece is going to just spring into being � Gilbert likes the existing blend and so I�ll leave it at that for a while � except I might pursue the idea of playing octotonic scale in triads on the guitar. I went back to RLJ1 to try and lift my spirits. DrZ has mailed a link to an interview with Iain Thomson. It gradually dawned on me that I have I Ts book on technology, Heidegger and the university. At first I didn�t get on with the book but then I read it in a rush on the tubes. Yesterday it occurred to me that I might be able to find traces of the creation of 10SS in my diary so I read some pages from 2003. I didn�t find anything about composing or arranging but it did strike me what a different world it was then with James leaving for Moscow for the first time. I had plenty to say about what I was reading.

Charlie Alexander mailed about a gig next Saturday in Greenwich with Alexander-Robinson duo � I began to plot how I could link this into the Ardittis at QEH in the afternoon.. Dr Z mailed to say how shocked he was at the state of Higher Educatiion in the UK. Dr Z also mailed round to say that the mathematician Mandlebrot has died. Mandlebrot has given his name to a set which is part of Chaos Theory, indeed it is almost the defining image of it. About twenty years ago I persuaded myself that I knew how the image was created. In my book M is a great man, a visionary.

previous - next