Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-09-15 - 2:33 p.m.

Yesterday I sent Gilbert a sound piece � he was busy rehearsing for a lute concert in November. This morning I sent PW a canon and a synth piece � he mailed back some comments. I hauled bear out of bed at 9.15am and got him working on SV1 radio which threw up the Detroit Experiment � a track I had forgotten � plus Part�s B Britten memorial which reminded me of the 90s.. PP has something about publishing poetry. � the ultimate goal for the poet. Then the bear broke off communications and couldn�t be raised. HSL was ready to hand � it played on shuffle starting with Sweet Bird. The other day I asked PW if he could remember how much we liked this album when it first arrived � yes he very much could. Golden in time, cities under the sand, power ideals and beauty fading in everyone�s hands..Then Shadows and Light. The sequence is part of the impact of this album and when it�s disrupted by the shuffle all sorts of new angles appear. This is surely one of her best � for me it knocks Blue into a cocked hat.. I never really thought of it being jazzy but I suppose it must be. Too proud to step outside the Boho Dance even if fortune allows. I mailed Gilbert the latest canon.

I decided life is too short to go without a Behringer Vamp 3 especially as it comes with a USB connection. Dr Z mailed the French contents page of one of his increasingly popular books � made me think I should read it in English. Dr Z starts

��Ne commen�ons pas par le doute radical. Partons d�une vision plus na�ve. Il y a quelque chose que la philosophie a en commun avec la vie des scientifiques, des banquiers et des animaux : tous ont affaire � des objets. Mais quelle est la signification exacte du mot � objet � ? C�est ce que l�on va d�velopper dans le pr�sent livre car, sous ce terme, il faut aussi ranger des entit�s qui ne sont ni physiques ni m�me r�elles. En effet, � c�t� de diamants, de cordes ou de neutrons, les objets peuvent aussi inclure des arm�es, des monstres, des cercles carr�s et des communaut�s internationales, r�elles ou fictives. L�ontologie doit pouvoir rendre compte de tous ces objets au lieu de les disqualifier ou de les r�duire � des riens m�prisables.��

I went back to Whitesell on JM � I have stayed away from his interpretations since reading the book right through to start. I suppose I may also need some headphones.. I switched to North Marine Drive which seemed charmimg � even the Dylan cover. I lifted an instrumental intro into SMS but didn�t really get anywhere with it.. Interesting to read about AK in NZ.. I got the bear up again at 2.20pm and he went for an obscure bit of soul by Clarence Reid. I worked my way down to those e/ms I really didn�t want to deal with but couldn�t delete. King Kooba was next up. I have arranged to go to Brill on Saturday and then Gfd on Sunday via Oxford.

previous - next