Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-09-04 - 10:13 a.m.

Someone has sent me Claude Bolling's California Suite. I think I may have owned something similar by CB on cassette in the 70s - it's excellent flute playing but it's not really my style. Commercially, I believe, it was a great success and as piano and flute music it has entered the repertoire. There was some more commentary on LEPs on linkedin. I started to remix the second canon - possibly one of the homemade loops is just too fuzzy but I have sent it to Gilbert. I played Hissing of Summer Lawns and thought again how brilliant it is - indeed I put something to that effect into a shout. It's over too quickly. I am quite looking forward to the David Toop performance at the Whitechapel Gallery today - it'll help me to decide about his new book.

FLAT TIME/sounding

A composition and performance by composer/author David Toop based on John Latham's ideas of Flat Time.

Performers:

David Toop: laptops, flutes, strings, amplified processes, omnipresent score.

John Butcher: saxophones, etc...

Phil Durrant: Maschine, etc...

Aleks Kolkowski: gramophones, Stroh violin, etc...

+Roger Turner: percussive markers

John Latham's 'Flat Time Hypothesis of 2000' elaborates on various forms of art, sound and those immaterial and mysteriously insubstantial events that exist as anomalies within our predominately space-based, object-based materialistic epistemology.David Toop Highlights Flat Time's affinity to the conceptual framework of an improvising musician, innately understanding and responding to the world in terms of events.

Commissioned by Ligatus, University of the Arts, London on behalf of the John Latham Archive and supported with funds from the PRS Foundation

North Marine Drive does seem very rooted in Surrey - but the sax playing is delightful. I see that a forthcoming exhibition at the RA will include some Egon Schiele - I didnt manage to see any when I was in Vienna - in fact I didn't see much that appealed. The Schiele is part of a collection of art from Hungary. There isn't much Hungarian art before the 20C.

I got up just before 9am and went through the e-ms. Lots about Hofner guitars from PW. Amazon thinks I might need a new phone and they are probably right. Nothing from AK for two weeks.

previous - next