Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-08-28 - 9:02 p.m.

The works server was nowhere to be seen so no ems at all. The bear was up though playing minimal techno. SMS offer free tunes online � I downloaded and played this week�s offering but it�s not immediately obvious how I will use the sounds. B played late D Graham and then some Comus who are late in their own way. I had woken thinking about Poor Boy and the bear kindly put it on � there had been discussion with PW about the multiple points of view on BL � to what extent this was an intentional outcome or a bi-product. The vocals are only just there and yet covers seem to miss something out. I tried and failed to record MIDI in SMS. The bear turned the radio off before long � I suppose he wanted a Bank Hol weekend too. I decided to cut back the Cageian piece and try some other experiments with it � I quickly reached a point where the system was unstable. I ended up doing something with bits of Solid Air with some extra processing in Kristal. Then shuffling round Disc2 of The Works which I like so much just now � I can�t explain the familiarity of the material. Lonesome for the Place I Know for example. There are times when they remind me of HallnOates which probably isn�t a complement for most people.

I have loaded an attempt at a British valve amp from the SMS disc � I was surprised to see it available in Kristal. Its EQ structure suggests to me it s based on a Marshall. But I haven�t found any sounds that I want to apply it to � Dhorn is a possibility I suppose. There s also meant to be a piano on the SMS disc which I have tried to load but I can�t find in the software. I found Dr Z�s blog � it was about an orientation day for postgrads � must be a universal phenomenon.

I used a couple of the new loops in a sketch � rhythm in a tonic against vibraphone chords. I spent a lot of time shaping the rhythmic answers to the harmony � not that I started out with a sequence in mind � the rhythmic extras helped to tell a harmonic story. Then I wondered about deleting an attempt at a percussion sequence I made in MIDI � instead I added some of the WAV loops from yesterday�s download � it could even turn out to be a Dhorn feature.

Eventually I went up to the Polish shop for some bud � I really ought to try the Polish beer � in fact there�s lots of interesting looking Polish fare. I think it�s the Bourne franchise again tonight. Paul B is in Detroit.

previous - next