Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-06-20 - 9:45 a.m.

The ETBG Platinum Collection arrived including Fascination from 1985. More saxophone than I expected - mostly Pete King? I wonder where that DVD has got to? Fascination is in 5-4. Paul says its the album which he has.

Meet me in the morning I'll have the motor running Down icy lanes, under a glass blue sky This is living This is living I haven't come to be a stranger I haven't come to break your home I haven't come to harm your children I've come to be your love Don't let the grass grow under your feet The sands of times keep running For now at last I'm down on the street With the engine running Meet me in the evening I'll have the log fire burning Down frosty lanes, under a darkening sky This is living This is living I haven't come to be a stranger I haven't come to break your home I haven't come to harm your children I've come to be your love

I went over to Gfd and picked up a companion to Adorno. the big history of Marxism and a couple of CDs - Pascal Roget's double CD of Ravel's piano music and the Ardittis playing Nono. On the way there I read Feenberg on Lukacs and Marcuse - I was pretty impressed. Feenberg is very hard on Marcuse's suggestion that liberation lies in bringing the aesthetic attitude to technology. I am sure a better case for this can be made.

On the way back I read an article from the Adorno companion - on his attitude to dialectical materialism. This didn't have what I was looking for - which is in a book I can't find which homes on Adorno's philosophy of science, in particular how to account for the variation in physical theories over time. I started on the following chapter in the companion which is about Adorno and Heidi and starts with the idea that in as much as Adorno linked modern music to the abandonment of a key system, there was an equivalent move in his writing which became atonal and abandoned the move towards home. Promising.

I am surprised by just how much Adorno I have got - well three key texts - New Music, the Dialectics of Enlightenment and Minima Moralia. Gracyk gives Adorno a good going over in Rhythm and Noise.

I learned that James and his gf are in Washington DC for a week or so. This is his summer holiday as he has to ship off to New Haven in August given their terms start much earlier than ours.

I played EBTG through a couple of times then the Tombeau de Couperin - I wish I knew where the music for this had got to. I regret losing the piece I made which started off from the Minuet. At least the score is available on line for free. Then Mother Goose - I used to do the Pavanne on the flute with a piano acc.- its so clever how he makes so much of so little. Wikipedia says that the Little Ugly Girl uses quartals.

previous - next