Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-04-26 - 9:22 a.m.

I watched the London Marathon on and off as I pressed on with Hutto�s book on Wittgenstein. Laurence mailed to say he hadn�t recommended it and so I must have bumped into it in a bookshop � possibly the one at Wwk U. I finished Ch1 which covers Kant, Hegel, Frege and Russell as precursors and moved on into Ch2. Although I don�t actually have my copy of the Tractatus to hand, almost all the quotations feel very familiar.

I struggled to find a way of messaging to the Patteran Pages and but cracked it via a band site. Dick replied very promptly and I mailed back with details about the treatment of Tintagel in the ITCOTCK book.

I have taken to watching The Sopranos in the middle of the night, finally realisng what all the fuss is about in terms of characterisation and production values.

I found a copy of Wayne Shorter�s Infant Eyes on LastFM/You Tube and played it testing the harmonies on guitar. I think the piece might be in Eb though its not an open and shut case � the bridge starts with an Eb major but the tune ends with a Ab/Bb with Bb as the melody note � this could be the dominant or it could be a modal tonic. It is on Speak No Evil � I�m sure I used to have a copy of this but can�t locate it. The track on LFM/YT is at a nice easy ballad pace which gives time to work out what the next chord shape should be. It reminds me a little of Naima but it has a 9bar middle eight. Maybe tomorrow I�ll try it with the Dhorn and the LFM/YT version. I also tried to track down a lead sheet for Herbie Hancock�s tune Little One which is on both Maiden Voyage and ESP � no luck but I did find an useful article about the chords of Nefertiti which is here:

http://thebadplus.typepad.com/dothemath/2006/02/nefertiti_chord.html

It�s a plenty weird set of changes and what�s more other progressions might be used in other versions of the tune. In fact some of the chords don�t have names apart from the list of notes that make them up. The version of Nefertiti that�s on The River: The Joni Letters is quite a lot different from the version on the Miles album with that title.

previous - next