Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-07-04 - 5:48 a.m.

Vita back from Newquay looking wasted.

I found myself working on JCF�s Kimby.

http://www.algonet.se/~iguana/DRAKE/pawnpoems.html I wrote to Paul about the poems under this URL � what that sensibility became in the 70s � some parallels with Revelations occurred to me a couple of days ago.

Then I saw that there was quite a big piece of P Ackroyd in the Guardian which accuses him of being under the influence of JHP and so I dug out his �Diversions of Purley�. Paul sometimes refers back to this suburb. I should explain that PA is in the same thin mag as the URL poems above.

I chose �love falls� which goes

Love falls

as brightness

moving from each to each

�sleep forever�

the boy said

who had no job

and no chance of getting one

turning on the stair

each with his own grace

one had too much passion

one had a nice face

you can see things

in whatever order

you want

and then, forgetting

the snow drifts

over my feet

a complete light

leaving me afraid

I will not turn back

along empty ways.

I had been thinking about the snow in Christmas Card for Salley � James has a photo of such snow from Clare bridge � and stone me here it is yet again � three hours later � leading into a Time Has Told Me conclusion � except in THTM its in the middle. The Christmas Card on algonet is longer than the one in Press When Illuminated.

The stair turning is in Ash Wednesday � PA wrote the (unauthorised) biography of TSE sometime in the 80s where he points out that after Ash Wednesday Eliot wrote nothing much for five years.

Eliot is in a mood clearly � on the death of Lawrence he writes to E M Forster asking EMF to justify word by word his suggestion that DHL was the greatest imaginative novelist of their generation. EMF says that while TSE may have entangled him in a net he would rather be a fly than a spider. Anyway Forster looks right from this distance � and he met ND � RM anyone?

In PA�s view �In Ash Wednesday, a language of order and belief is being used to stabilise and insistent sense of loss and emptiness. �

Which reminds me what a stunning piece it is: �Rose of fogetfulness/exhausted and life giving �..Where all loves end/Terminated torment/Of love unsatisfied/The greater torment/Of love satisfied.�

Mannequin like. Now that we�ve found love what are we gonna do with it? As they say in Philadelphia. In fact this is a similar place to that kindness-kicking piece.

As I drove James to a party I heard �Why can�t we live together� � another Philly moment� that Hammond syncopated riff and the bongos � as fresh as a daisy.

Must ask Larry what he makes of the Pretender. Didn�t realise that Brando breathed life into the line about a contender. Is that �Love could have been a contender/as out into the evening goes the pretender.�

previous - next