Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-12-15 - 6:40 p.m.

The piece seems to be growing. I found I was humming part of it today.

I gave a copy of Lullabyes to James girlfriend Louise � it turns out she is grade 8 clarinettist and she did a dissertation on the origins of apartheid for A level. It sounds to me as if doing Modern Languages is much harder work than History. She and James got up just in time for the breaking news about Saddam�s capture.

As I dipped into the Jung biography I came across a bizarre meeting which took place in the early 1920s in England. Jung held a seminar in Polzeath in Cornwall in the only hotel. Polzeath is the holiday location of choice for my brother, sister and mother in law � they have been there every summer for years. We are sometimes in Cornwall at the same time and go and visit so I know the place quite well. So I have probably had a drink at the same bar as the inventor of synchronicity. There are some really great walks thereabouts� both North over the cliffs along the coast towards Tintagel and south into the Padstow Estuary and Rock where Betchman is buried.

There are various hints that Cornwall retained a mystical allure before the War. It must have been quite hard to get to and more beautiful even than today � also the people must have been more locked into local culture. The Hughes went to the Devon/Cornwall borderas late as the early 60s. There�s some quite interesting music from the 1920s � Arthur Bliss�s song about Madame Noy for example.

Talking of the wellInever, I see that the Cameron I met last week has a Christian name which is the same as my sister�s middle name.

I have worked flatout today on a magnum opus comparing international views of world class manufacturing in the 1990s and at present. I am about half way through the first draft. I mailed Teresa to tell her how I was thinking of assembling my material and to suggest a meeting early in the New Year. I also had a meeting with Keith from the University of Hertfordshire about what it might mean to assess institutions and courses of different kinds which was very useful. I think we will be off to see Maria early in the New Year. Keith�s daughter (not Maria) is at at Newnham and sings in the Selwyn choir.

I have managed to get some flute practice in two days running.

There is a chord sequence I am fooling around with that uses rootless thirteenths. One way of looking at these chords is as stacked fourth chords with the lowest interval as an augmented fourth � for example Ab D G C. I voice this with the Ab up an octave so that there is a semitone interval in the centre of the chord. It will easily follow a Cmaj7 taking the base up by a tone than a half step to Ebmaj7. That pattern will cycle endlessly between keys a minor third apart. The idea is eventually to mix that progression with the one that goes from C to Ab via a similar chord in a similat position � from the bottom Db F G C. This is the sequence I am getting quite fluent at on the flute.

previous - next