Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-12-11 - 6:14 a.m.

Today was hectic � now why was that? Maybe it was the foggy drive to work although the Forest of Arden did look attractive as I listened to some of Hail to the Thief.

I had started the day by looking at a sequence of 12 notes which has grown out of �Nineteen�. I have a strange faith that there is something of value lurking in them.

Roger Eno � brother of Brian is published by a firm in Petersfield which is down the A3 towards Petersfield from Gfd. I bought on impulse some of his piano music that escaped via that channel � a few years back. It was slightly underspecified on the basis that the performer should make more of the choices than was usually the case.

Altogether quite a subtle proposition.

I found a goodsite at which lobbies for a more responsible US national and international AIDS policy as part of the 2004 Presidential campaign which I put up on the KK links page. This is dead centre of our new KK site strategy. I phoned Dr Chatterton to make sure he tries it out.

At work Pat (whom I first met at the Daewoo design studio in Worthing and who joined us a couple of months back) introduced me to Nigel who is ex-army and whom I first met about five years ago whilst working on an ambitious project to map the future of motor vehicles. We talked about some of the things I had picked up in Milan � Nigel had not long returned from China.

I bumped into Peter who used to be part of my team in the department. He was with a colleague on secondment to work on the Skills Strategy. We agreed that I would come over to his new office in Birmingham and talk about some of my discoveries of the last year. Stefan suggested a good preparatory line of enquiry. There was Christmas card from Paul Bell.

I knocked out a short paper for someone at the Universtity of Hertfordshire on the key factors for any new approvals procedure in the further education sector. On the strength of this I decided to follow up a lead I had developed earlier in the year and let hang. Then I went through the composting levels of my e-inbox either deleting or reviving certain possibilities.

Keith and I polished off a task for the boss � or so we thought but there were more refinements to come. We chatted a bit about Porter�s views on Japan and the motto: operational excellence is not a strategy.

It was cold this evening on the drive home. Radio 4 suggested that the resurgence of the guitar is a reaction to the more manufactured end of the pop business being so salient.

I heard the Stones early hit �The Last Time� � a great production.

previous - next