Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-11-21 - 7:57 a.m.

A sub-Farben piece has appeared � I have lost both the original CD and the score of Farben which is something even by my standards.

I read an article by Morton Feldman in the pub last night where he said that Schoenberg�s attempt to link expressionism and classic structure was such an effort that one couldn�t help wonder whether it was worth it. With Stravinsky, on the other hand, you couldn�t help wondering what on earth had made him write THAT.

There is an outbreak of dutifulness tonight. Not Bob Dylan two miles down the road from the office, not Joanna Macgregor the Art of the Fugue and Dumbarton Oaks at the CBSO Centre � but the Birmingham Botanics and Engineering, Dumbarton Oaks has a great garden � I did a couple of drawings there once. Hope I have done the right thing.

Schadenfreude is an expressionist sentiment but not an attractive one. I have to say I felt it today when I read about a spat between Gordon Brown and Patricia Hewitt.

I listened to some of Tori Amos� new greatest hits album online. What does she look like? An artist? An all-round entertainer?

This piece is based on a minor third in the ratio of 19 to 16 which is used to create a six note chord minor 11th. The chord mutates via some 6 and 8 note chords all built from the same interval to the minor 11th a tritone away. There�s a modulation episode in the waveform on the synth which does the large chords and I use this as a hook from which to hang various musical episodes happen on the journey. It lasts about three minutes � just over. It could be longer. Maybe it has acquired a tale with a few vocal episodes.

One of Regan�s books suggests that the new approach to management will be based around the idea of iteration or self reference. I am really not sure whether I buy this as it stands. It made me think of Kierkegaard and Sickness Unto Death � where he says that the unique thing about the self is that it is only thing whose essence is to relate to itself. Does that mean that Kierkegaard�s varieties of despair will be incorporated management manuals in the interests of sustaining the corporate vision?

We will seek our self-realisation by jumping into the corporate future?

At the Botanics I met a poet who wentt to a school near mine and who used to go over the Island. She was surprised I didn�t go to see BD. Woke up with a hangover.

previous - next