Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-06-25 - 9:06 a.m.

Well here I am � despite recent non-appearances. The things which might have gone wrong last week didn�t � for which I am extraordinarily grateful. But it makes you think � makes you review your risk profile in fact. I wouldn�t advocate this as a permanent occupation � its quite exhausting and also potentially disturbing.

I think Robin pointed out recently that the whole creative endeavour is beset by risk. Just at the moment the urge to take these risks isn�t very strong. I think on balance I regret this. I listened to Blue Flame through last evening and really really enjoyed it. It has a rare combination of attributes � which seem to me to cluster around a kind of calm intensity � well I suppose the title metaphor sums it up.

Last evening I went out for a foray in the car � tracking the Grand Union Canal south east from Leamington towards the point where it meets the Oxford Canal. Those canals certainly followed an eccentric route to get from A to B. I have it mind maybe to start sketching a few canal scenes. It�s a question of getting to the tipping point.

There�s lots of organisational uncertainty around at the moment � not just with us but with a number of similar outfits. My colleague Keith met another one who seems to be going through a similar period of questing.

previous - next