Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-06-12 - 6:29 a.m.

First posting for a while � partly because of time/energy issues � but more especially because I am less clear what to write about � what to extract out of the flux of the everyday.

Last night I fell asleep on the sofa in my flat. I was listening to a radio programme about Sonny Sharrock � I had called it up from the Radio 3 storehouse on the web. Of the four jazz guitarists that Charles Shaar Murray has chosen as giants who changed the music he is the least well known. He plays on Jack Johnson along with John Maclaughlin although for some reason he was never properly credited. His idea was to take the capabilities of the electric guitar as they had developed in the 2nd half of the 60s and to marry them to the free jazz style.

Really I should have paid more attention � it�s a pretty interesting subject after all. At least on the net you can recall things when you have missed them.

Anyway I woke quite early this morning I had woken up about midnight on the sofa and transferred to bed. So in the early hours I spent some time listening to Classic FM and drinking Camomile Tea.

I am coming to the conclusion that there has to be a thinning out of the things in my flat. This is not a process that I am very good at or enjoy very much. For a start there is the fear that I will get rid of something that I will want in a few weeks� time. This usually happens � but the fact that it happens in one or two instances isn�t a good enough reason to let everything accumulate in more and more confused piles.

I think tidier people than I are probably much more consistent in their thinning out processes than I am. They plug away at it � whereas I dip my toe in the water, don�t like the temperature and don�t repeat the experience until the clutter is compeletly suffocating me. At least having it all sitting here persuades me that I can�t be using this stuff most of the time.

previous - next