Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-06-05 - 6:53 a.m.

Lots of bad news come in, mostly from or about friends, is making for a change in priorities and in the pattern of life.

How much should I try to explain? The place I played on Friday night � is a place where over the last three or four years I have played fairly regularly, for and with a certain group of people. Not wanting to let that slip away was one of the reasons I made the effort to get there and do it in the face of a few reasons why it looked like a silly idea.

One of the people who was instrumental in a particular set of �happenings� in this location � which I have been very involved with - died last week . Exactly what happened is unclear but the circumstances don�t look too good. I phoned Pete Crowther to pass on the news . Pete is the guitarist who I have done a lot with at these happenings. It turns out his wife, Jane, is going through quite a serious problem with her health which is naturally monopolising his attention.

Four weeks today I am scheduled to put on something � the next one in the series. I already had some ideas but its all got a lot sharper. I came across this familiar extract which might be in the zone that I need to explore:

The dove descending breaks the air

With flame of incandescent terror

Of which the tongues declare

The one discharge from sin and error.

The only hope, or else despair

Lies in the choice of pyre and pyre �

To be redeemed from fire and fire.

Who then devised the torment? Love.

Love is the unfamiliar Name

Behind the hands that wore

The intolerable shirt of flame

Which human power cannot remove.

We only live, only suspire.

Consumed by either fire or fire.

previous - next