Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-05-13 - 6:55 p.m.

Scotch Corner on the A1 listening to Luther Vandross singing Give Me the Reason � so much for local colour.

Driving up here I had Radio 3 on and I really enjoyed it when Fiona T on Late Junction played a track off the new Keith Jarret Standards Trio CD � All the Things You Are. Although they must have played the changes a thousand times they make it sound so fresh. Earlier I had caught a radio interview with Lou Reed who sounded strangely reasonable.

Yvonne has been tidying James� room � Monday was his start working at Izvestia. My only Ornette Coleman CD has floated to the surface in this process which I also listened to on the M1.

I had lunch with Charlie Alexander of Jazzwise � and I briefly saw the JW nerve centre which includes where the magazine is put together � in a former coachhouse in Streatham. We talked about �jazz infrastructure� � JW is obviously a key part of this as far as the UK is concerned � and its one of the thing which emerges from my research on Detroit. He spoke about the utter dedication of players he has met like John Scofield � the way he had everthing down in every key � no question. Also the way that in place like NYC , Philly and Detroit (at least during the critical period) � if nothing else is happening people get together for a blow � that is the default activity. Charlie has just finished a CD of guitar duets � I commissioned a Lullabye from his duo.

Sunday night�s foray included a solo on the Crafter electroacoustic on Old 100 � and a flute and treble recorder duet with Eike fooling with a little modal figure in D minor.

I dropped in on Peter Chatterton yesterday evening and he showed me some really powerful footage that she shot with Trish on Sunday of Florence � a retired nurse who has been working with Lynn Coull for about a year on HIV and AIDS care in the Highveld area. Florence is really downbeat when discussing topics which pack a strong emotional punch. Trish has organised a two week trip for Florence round parts of Wales. We mailed Ciaran suggesting that he put a link through from his Race Against Time website (see above) to some video clips of Florence running off Peter�s site which particularly underpin his message.

Peter and I talked about the way that the audio works on the kwase-kwaza site. He explained that some of the audio tracks that I couldn�t identify off the site stats were from the page about Cleveland�s recital. I think there have maybe been a couple of hundred plays of this material. We went through my analysis of the high volumes of bytes that have been called off the site in the last month and confirmed that it was likely that around half of this is audio .

That makes three high volume areas on the kwase-kwaza site � the News which I try to update every day, Derek�s pictures which are not available anywhere else on the net � and the audio tracks. We agreed that one of our priorities has to be getting more content about the SA end of business onto the site. The interview with Florence is a start on this process � hopefully when Robert is in the Highveld he will get a lot more material � especially with the new digital camera.

One of the reasons for visiting Peter was to review my discussion with Mihaela � which Peter had set up. Mihaela has been involved with a lot science and technology policy initiatives that I remember from the 1980s and in fact she knows someone I used to work with � Andrew Wallard. Andrew�s wife used to teach physics at the school which has just offered Yvonne a job. Apparently he is now working at some international institute in Paris which helps administer metric standards � the really accurate second from atomic clocks and such like.

previous - next