Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-04-26 - 6:49 p.m.

James and Yvonne went to the Saatchi Gallery in the old GLC building yesterday and then on to see Russian Ark � James is leaving for Moscow on Wednesday. Actually Russian Ark is about the Hermitage in Leningrad. James said he really like the oil installation at the GLC.

I got some feedback from someone on Bodyspace Lament � they asked where on earth this stuff came from. I said I didn�t know and then I listened to Rothko Chapel this morning and I decided that it probably came from M Feldman all things considered.

Talking about Rothko - there is a review of a book about existentialism and NYC in the Guardian today. Looks like a must to me. Actually its opposite another interesting review about the rise of uptown in the US postwar and the peculiar values and cultural artefacts that went with the phenomenon - like high-heeled shoes. When I was in NYC this last time I was really taken by the uptown vibe around Times Square, 52nd St and 48th St given that we were staying on the upper west side which is more suburban.

So reading this new stuff about about the emergence of uptown � NYC didn�t really see any big developments after the Empire State until after the 2nd World War � I began to wonder if the under side of postwar uptown includes the modern jazz club � the arena for improvised exploration of the Kierkegaardian self rootr in the urban jungle. Just a thought.. I discovered that Auden invented the phrase � the Age of Anxiety � maybe he did that in his bohemian flagship on the Lower East Side.

I haven�t mentioned the seminar that Stefan and I went to on the Learning and Skills Council on Thursday in Victoria . Good in itself it also provided an opportunity to pick up The Wire and Modern Painters. The Wire carried news of a Rhys Chatham triple CD release on 6 May. I�d better start saving up for this and indeed for the 6 hour DVD of the Well Tuned Piano. Rhys used to make the piano well-tuned..

Having been away for a couple of days meant that I haven�t been able to keep www.kwase-kwaza.org as well fed as I would have liked � but I did manage to put some stuff up at the of the week. Looking at the stats I could almost persuade myself that the less frequent posting of news causes a drop in site volume � but I don�t quite see how the feedback can be so immediate. Holland has now overtaken Belgium as the country which sends most users (after the UK). There�s a lot of material from India which I need to sort through as well � I am sure some of that is suitable for the site.

I have been putting some lights up in Vita�s redecorated bedroom � study. Its hard work and I notice how much worse my eyesight is. I really must get some proper glasses. Cleveland and Peter came to the house for a meeting to plan a world AIDS Day concert for next December. I showed Peter the glitch on one of the pages of the KK site.

I made a copy of 10SS 4 5ths and 2 tunes from NYC0303 for Robin � a composer from Cambridge from the 1949 generation who lives near Sarah and Geoffery.

previous - next