Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-03-27 - 1:18 p.m.

Quite a bit of work on the cultural background research for Andrew Keeling�s project on the first KC . I started with a list of people that I had come cross during that decade or subsequently who seemed to be important to the decade and then tried to distill some key themes out of the list. Next I went off into Google and tried to find out how well these themes had already been researched � some had and some hadn�t. But that exercise led me to some more individual�s whose careers and interests seemed to have a wider relevance � which meant hunting down some old contacts and also ordering some biographies. Charlie Alexander at Jazzwise pointed me in the direction of what looks like a promising new book on jazzrock. I�ll be interested to see how all of this ties in with Andrew�s lines of enquiry.

I made a couple of copies of Gilbert�s concert � one for Nick and the other for Peter. I think the way Gilbert describes his treatment of River Man in his recent diary entry is exactly right � or at least that�s how it sounds to me.

I have been listening to the fifth piece in the merging tunes from NYC collection. I think I am going to leave the CZ101 track unadorned. For some odd reason it comes out sounding like a Hammond B3 on a fast and overdriven Leslie. Pieces three and four are sitting in Cubase � I think they are finished but I am not sure. And then the first two are with Gilbert.

I spent too much time yesterday evening hooked on reports from Iraq � well into the night actually � BBC West Midlands local radio had some really good experts on. But the net result is that I feel a bit ropey today.

I have looked out some of my archival paper on decision-making, rationality, models and metaphor � partly for Keith Jordan in the next door office . Will this soothe the addled synapses � almost certainly not! Keith tells me that just now the Daily Mirroir seems to be occupying the centre of gravity of British common sense.

previous - next