Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-03-02 - 12:39 p.m.

What comes after a debut? Whatever it is I have just had it here at the Ritz-Carlton in Dearborn. The hapless victims were the Robert Lowe trio. Robert comes out of George Benson, Wes Montogomery and Kenny Burrell. I have played with bassplayer before who spent a lot of time with Earl Klugh.

Anyway this stuff is kind of hardedged and sharp - a lot of modal groove and then at the pedal points you step out into the lift shaft harmonically. Fortunately I had been working on some metatonal licks last night listening to the classic soul n RNB station - stepping outside to Parliament and James B. So I was you might say up for it - I walked up and politely asked if I could sit in.

A medium groove kicked in - G minor. And yes I was in luck - it was the Mel Torme classic Coming Home Babe. This is what the plutocrats of Dearborn eat their brunch too. Funny Old World.

previous - next