Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-01-17 - 8:11 p.m.

Berlin 1973 � west to east � the breadroll initiative - then The League to Combat Contradictory Behaviour. These I learn are key moments in the early career of Kippenberger and Oehlen. Thus the critic sees these activities:

�Turning the social conditions � the immediate environment, the art market, the history of art, metaphysics and other meta-subjects into the objects of art � taking care to preserve what is specific in each level of the work � combinations of different levels of authenticity and reality.�

This is very similar to Dan Graham and the Ecology of Minimalism leading into Richard Serra � only a box � but a box whose material reality is so invasive that it could fall on you and kill you.. Needless to say these Germans jumped into punk. This is the first time that pop and art meet in German culture (apparently). One iconic work is �Capri by Night� � a photo of a Ford Capri in broad daylight. Somewhere along the line Iggy Pop�s drummer joins the narrative. This is what you can learn for around �5 by buying Modern Painters. Must do this more often.

I told my boss Graham about his mate�s Gordon�s great speech yesterday at Millbank yesterday. In fact I went in search of the full text and ended up talking to the bloke who had written it � we touched on the value of Cameron Diaz and Leonardo saying on UK TV that they drove the Prius on principle. (I would drive it because when the electric motor kicks in when you hit the accelerator at 40pmh you are shoot up to 55mph faster than you can see �regenerative braking�). I said that although British people wouldn�t buy a car on those grounds � the celeb enthusiasm means that lots of people become aware of the car much cheaply than can be achieved by press and TV advertising. Anyway I gave Graham even more stuff to read on the plane.

There was a long an interesting discussion on where we had got on the Academy after yesterday�s board meeting � it�s a strange way that people at this level have of naffing around � I am quite glad I don�t have to sit through it.

I posted a copy of the two current CDs to Robin and sorted out where I am going on Tuesday � the Design and Manufacturing subgroup of the Foresight Vehicle project at Coventry University.

I mentioned to Jon Maytom at DTI that Nick SB had been in Vic Reeves� backing band at one stage.

Brie and Cranberry on Brown from Hampton in Arden (need I say more).

Listened to the Coventry R&B top ten.

previous - next