Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-01-15 - 7:30 a.m.

Keith gave me some useful feedback about the levels on the Cleveland Williams CD � I will see if I can improve this � I gave him his copy of Plundafonix. He gave the 10SS to Stefan who is a major progrock enthusiast. Keith was very positive about the news section on www.kwase-kwaza.org - especially the range of coverage � which is something I try to emphasise � both corporate and individual stories. Today I put up a really good report about a French guy who cycled across Africa � investigating civil society � in the belief he would see more of it from his bike. He has put his findings up on a website called the voice of the people. Kiaran mailed about his big cycling project � the race against time.

Very nice of Mark to put such positive reactions to 10SS&4:5ths in his diary. I am with him in that I wish I could have played Gilbert�s solo and also in the thought that there is something in chilling in Robin�s reading of the piece � the young girl might be out of a Stephen King novel � maybe I shouldn�t have dipped into The Shining at the weekend. Don�t start me on the subject of Debussy!

I am trying to tidy the flat � basically I need more storage space. Why do I have so much stuff? Really its just books CDs instruments and gear � other people have shoes I believe.

I drove down to Milton Keynes via Banbury, Brackley and Buckingham. My aunt and uncle used to own a garage in Brackley and they rented part of an old manor house in a nearby village. I spent a fortnight there once when I was about 17 while my parents were away on holiday. I wish there was something dramatic to report about the episode but I can�t think of much. The aunt was my father�s younger sister and she was a secretary in the BBC before the war � she liked reading biographies and hated Shakespeare.

I listened to Tori Amos on the way there � but the ideas from yesterday stuck in my head as she sounded more and more like Ms Bush but Ms B seemed better.

MK seemed enormous. The company were patient as I probed deeper and deeper into their quality and performance management systems. Then I drove back down the M1 and M6 � so much less attractive than the countryside slightly to the West which I had crossed to get to MK. I need to write up some kind of comparative study of this firm and the one I saw before Christmas. This one is part of an international group whereas the other was UK privately owned.

Listening to the local student station broadcasting at 64 kbs � stuff I wouldn�t hear otherwise. Reminds me of being in Dearborn � wonder if it runs all night. There are also tests broadcasts of Young Asian Radio. Last night someone on R4 was enthusing about Detroit � what is the world coming to?

I put some more work in on the nameless current piece � some CZ101 � also some beat episodes � I think it may be an extended dominant tonic piece � quite extended.

I have been playing the U2 on retro settings in the Vamp � Vox AC30 with echo and reverb

Another piece seems to have started � maybe it will turn into a standard.

I have run out of museli.

previous - next