Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-12-20 - 7:44 a.m.

First stop � down to MVC to get the Rolling Thunder Review.

Great to see the poem by Rilke in AK�s Discipline Diary.

One of the points that came up yesterday evening with Laurence - the experience of being told to read books by one�s philosophy tutor. Laurence said that at one stage he was told to go and read Capital � he might have said �you mean all of it?� but by that stage he knew what the answer would be. But he also knew his way through � how to do the Oxford thing. I said that in my first year at Hoggwarts they said �Go and read the Investigations� which I did (much shorter than Capital) - and it perplexed me more and more until the start of my second year when I wrote an essay on the private language argument. The essay said in crude terms � if this argument is true then you can forget about Locke Berkeley Hume and some of Kant.

Laurence suggested that writing this or some equivalent was the start rather than the conclusion of engaging with this particular work. His view of �reflection� is that both the depth of theory and expanded boundaries of possibility can be compressed into the present � into how we engage in a collective process of discussion and reflection here and now � this can happen if the process is supported in the right way

He takes this view from the Investigations � I mentioned that I had gone back to the bit about Wittgenstein making tea and putting out the ashtray in the Blue (or maybe Brown) book � a simple model of �expecting�. From that episode � maybe a real instance of expecting his friend to arrive - Wittgenstein manages (for example) to undermine the Platonic theory of forms and start the idea of language games off. And this may have been how the famous discussions in his rooms went.

I have unearthed the first and second assessments on the punk Jungian Margerison-McCann Team Index. Both agree that my preferred role is Creator-Innovator but in the second reading my preference for project management style work disappears and is replaced by a more values-driven strand that makes me reluctant to communicate in situations where I am not sure of the reception of my ideas.

To help this process along � taking a meta-look at the TMI � there was a prompt reply from Barry Oxtoby this morning � we seem to be digging quite deeply on leadership and learning. In fact in the note to which Barry is replying I looked at some of the dynamics on the four axes � not least in terms of how he had changed over time.

As far as I am concerned, in the second assessment only 2% of people are more into creativity than me (down from 16% in reading one) and only 8% of people are more unjudgemental/structure-indifferent approach (down from 22% in reading one) . I had also migrated from a balanced position on the Introvert-Extravert scale to a moderately strong Intro preference. (By this stage I had taken up performing again � maybe not a perfect cause and effect there.)

I n fact at the second assessment I was about the same age that Laurence is now � he is picking up and holding the idea that creativity has to be an important part of the new regime � and that it needs to embedded in the fabric.

I mailed Mark the latest piece � and he confirmed that it needs some pruning. That�s the kind of producer role I imagine he must have carried out when he worked in studios. It would be a good idea to make the piece so short that I can actually mail it to Gilbert!

Paul mailed a couple of good articles on HIV/AIDS � a global overview on the pandemic from The New Internationalist was the first that I put up on www.kwase-kwaza.org. I put �AIDS� and �Highveld� into google and was pleased to see that the site as the first entry � but there was also quite an interesting page that put this project in a list of priorities for support - I think mainly for people from the USA. As far as I can tell the priorities were set by some Anglican wide integrating body. Anyway I put this up as well � together with something about long distance trucking in India and also some stuff about the photographer whose pictures were featured in the Guardian magazine on Saturday.

I managed to do something I have been putting off for over a month � I rang up � drove to Aston and did it � I will have to follow this up in the New Year � I found a big music shop that I didn�t know about which I took as a reward. Not a lot of interest there - except a 2nd hand Casio FZ1 for �200.

I listened to Ives Symphony No 4 - there is a new set triple CD conducted by T Thomas which is extremely good value. I heard an Ives Symphony when I was 18 at the Proms � maybe it was No 4 � which had only received its first performance two years earlier. It was not a string that I decided to follow at that point though I suppose having heard it was useful in terms of some of the stuff I was about to encounter. Now it seems to demand the closest investigation. His stuff does remind me of Berg � I suppose it must be because they are pushing the late Romantic orchestra into a new zone � but you could also point to the elements in the Violin Concerto that are pulled in from elsewhere like the folk tune and the chorale.

previous - next