Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-12-17 - 9:31 a.m.

A frustrating day � the meeting I wanted to go to in Birmingham was shifted at the last minute so that I couldn�t attend. Luckily the driving which followed was easy � under two hours back to Guildford. Then a meal with the family and James and I set off round a relatively free M25 to Selwyn listening to his rap CDs. James has a great sense of humour and he decided that the college is like Hoggwarts in Harry Potter. (There�s a picture of in in my Meeting Nick article in the Nick Drake file � you have to imagine it on a cold dark winter�sevening with a large man in the porter�s office.)

Oddly we had a fitful conversation on the way there about the postmodern trope of art intertwining with life � this is mentioned as a feature in pomo primer I got at the weekend with reference to trainers and rapstars. I said that one could usefully compare this to the late 19C artistic cliques � Wilde for example.

Everyone is being interviewed over this period of two or three days � James has three interviews and for one he has to arrive early in order to prepare some undefined and unseen presentation. I�ll phone tonight to see how it all went. Especially having gone up with James onto B staircase where he is staying (I had rooms on D and then E) - I can�t help feeling slightly dynastic about it. Actually I managed to get in avoiding this particular bit of business � I�m still not clear why.

Swapped files and e-mails with Gilbert about the current state of the postReich piece. I also tried to track down the music to the Rodgers and Hart tune � It Never Entered My Mind � it contains the line �now I even have to scratch my back myself� � to complete a couplet with �what I lack myself�. I found some chords but I�m not sure about them. I listened to Bach�s Two Part Inventions � and thought about messing further with the Cminor one or maybe the E major one. Also Parade � the quality of the recording on the Naxos CD is amazing. I also listened through to the GI-IC oeuvre � must sort out the balance of tracks 6 and 7 of Shortstories.

James was spotted by Yvonne in Heals serving on the till with an extremely pretty girl � she is a drama student doing a Christmas job. Vita and Yvonne began ruthlessly working this strand over dinner.

Paul mailed about a ballet to Carl Orff on TV and a Cabinet Office paper on risk management. I mailed back talking about Orff�s position in a decaying german mystical folk nationalism and with the summary of a paper from Los Alamos about the global threat of AIDs which Rajan sent me.

I found a mp3 of Jenny from the Block and played it on the slowspeed same pich facility of the Creative filemanager � tempting!!

previous - next