Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-12-16 - 8:49 a.m.

Rehearsed at 9.00 am and played the stuff 2 hours later � the fun part was filling in behind Zoe Hubbard on Dhorn � its especially good working with a singer like that in a live situation several hundred people listening.

I had a crack at a further track using Gilbert�s guitar recordings. I had been holding back a bit to see what kind of feed back we got from people. Both Gilbert and I have been very heartened by Mark and Paul Wheeler�s response � particularly in terms of reaching for something that we are not quite certain of. It could be that listeners don�t believe its there either. So I tried the track that is built from a set of chords that made up an unrecorded Steve Reich tune � earlier say than Is Gonna Rain. I also did a remix of the piece that has the Fifhs basic track, Robin�s voice, part of Boulez 3rd piano sonata � and a guitar part. Gilbert is suggesting that maybe we have got to a stage where we ought to expose the music to more than our immediate circle of contacts. Maybe he is right � but it�s a big step to take.

James is relaxing and reading various books to get himself ready for his interview � some essays by the whacky quantum physicist Richard Feynman and an account of a visit to the USSR in 1932 by the then editor of the Guardian � Kingsley Martin. Yvonne has a friend who is married to a prof at LSE and this person was reminding James of some of the plus points of that university � like a red hot academic and research record. I see that the head of the Financial Services Agency is to become the new President of LSE � maybe that isn�t a plus point.

I was grimly fascinated by the Cheriegate reporting in the Observer and Independent on Sunday.

Talking of physicists � I came across a guy researching at Los Alamos who as a part-time activity tries to promote AIDS/HIV awareness in India.I was so impressed I put some of his statement of intent up on www.kwase-kwaza.org.

Drove back to Leamington in under 2 hours including a stop for petrol. Hope I wake up in time.

previous - next