Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-12-09 - 2:50 p.m.

I felt tired and inactive most of today � not helped by the low temperature when the dog and I went out for a walk this morning. . Jake passed his level 2 obedience cerificate so I suppose it was worth it.

Martin Creed sung one of his songs on the Channel 5 art programme � he said that writing songs had altered the way he thought about his sculpture.

Apparently Angus Wilson�s book about the Victorians has been one of the big sellers this year along with Berlin. I looked at the George Elliot and the Gibbon/Hume chapters in his Death of God � about the way in which Enlightenment ideas bore down on the Victorian intelligentsia. Amongst the books I packed yesterday were a collection called The Thinker�s Library � which date from the first few decades of the 20th century and which were, I think, an attempt to make these �free� intellects more cheaply available to a wider reading public.

As I drove back to Leamington I found myself strangely drawn into a programme about the enlargement of the European Community

previous - next