Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-11-23 - 7:12 a.m.

When I got into my office there was a message on my desk from Laurence Cranmer � I called him immediately. I got to know him when I was working at the Civil Service College � he was probably the most original thinker there. We stayed in touch after I left � indeed after he left and went freelance and the joined KPMG. Now he has left KPMG and has been asked to apply for a permanent position at Ashridge Management College.

His big thing is strategic leadership and I worked for him on that product. He used to be a great fan of Iris Murdoch and her late work the Metaphysics of Morals. It was through him that I met Chris who led a bunch of the paras in the Falklands.

Laurence now lives 10 miles to the west of Oxford which can�t be that far from my flat. He e-mailed me the stuff is doing on leadership in the public sector � I really enjoyed the section on authority and legitimacy. I mailed him some thoughts and some IC �GI short stories. His son has an up and coming heavy metal band � a dup of guitar and drums.

I am still working through the material which I got at the Manchester Conference � yesterday I was looking at an initiative called the Centres of Vocational Excellence or COVES. Most of these are in the public sector but some are private � including for example the British Aerospace apprenticeship training school. They seem to be a key element in the Government�s big skills strategy and we need to know where we are going to position ourselves relative to them � whether to become one or select some partners from the existing ones.

In the afternoon we met with KPMG (by coincidence) and the issue of funding from this source came up again � they had some rather strong ideas about additional revenue streams in the vocational training domain.

When I got home there were two CDs of Cleveland�s recital. I couldn�t resist loading up the first song � one of Schubert�s Lieder � and trying a little bit of processing � some change of EQ.

previous - next