Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-11-21 - 10:10 a.m.

A gig � yes a gig! What can I say � what did we play? St Louis Blues, Anthropology, All the Things You Are, Norwegian Wood (Herbie Hancock version which I have never heard before), Triste � a wonderful Jobim tune I have only played in private hitherto, Our Love is Here to Stay, Solar (a Miles Davis 12 bar), I Cant Get Started, Cool Blues, Autumn Leaves, the Girl from Ipanema�. and other stuff. On the strength of this we were offered a gig on Sunday � so this must be a band � if people want to hire it at �60 a head ! Can I negotiate the extra time? Maybe if I offer to split the proceeds with my permanently cash poor daughter.

It must be a jazz gig if after the show you find yourself in a someone�s flat flat drinking wine and talking about Foucault, eating disorders and the sociology of knowledge. Of course one ought to have grown out of this by my great age � but it is such fun � who on earth would suggest that a more ordered set of social relations is superior in some normative sense. The surprising thing is that this is midweek in the Midlands- I certainly couldn�t find this in Guildford any day of the month. Our host was Mark who used to do architectural restoration in San Francisco � he played us a very interesting Steve Coleman record, some Billy Holiday, Coltrane and Ellington. He said the house used to belong to Larry Grayson � its just round the corner from the hotel with the jazz cellar.

Gavin Band (the Band leader) has just finished his PhD on the interaction on linear and non-linear dynamic systems and has a Japanese girlfriend � he is going to visit her in Tokyo shortly for a whole month. He played one of his compositions � a bit like Pat Metheny I thought. Apparently this band also has a drummer.

I gave the bass-player, John MacCartney a copy of Plundafonix. I aim to invite him round to my den to get some of his extraordinary basslines down on the portable PC . I have an idea about getting a standards album together.

Yesterday there was a meeting at the Jaguar plant at Castle Bromwich where they used to make Spitfires and now they make the S-type. There was a really interesting presentation from a German from Daimler-Chrysler (Mercedes Benz) about international comparisons that he is doing. I asked him about the impact of the German high level of craft skills on the metrics that he is concerned about � a facsinating reply. I had got my suit cleaned especially for this meeting. Geoff Dale gave me a lift to the meeting � his daughter has just started studying International Marketing at Surrey University which is close to my house in Guildford.

I wrote a bit more about leadership � using the Myers Briggs typology as a template to compare different leadership models. I have tried to show that the humanistic / charismatic dimension of leadership is relatively suppressed in the specification which emerged at the Automotive Summit.

This is Dan Graham writing about a well-known group:

�Each discrete mechanical phrase of lyric strata was a punctuated hollow of sound surrounded by surface vacancy. Wherever emotion was indicated instead there was inexorable and tired anticipation.�

It might be the Velvet Underground � I�m Waiting for my Man? In fact it�s the Kinks � Tired of Waiting.

Lynn Coull mailed me from the Highveld � Peter has posted her letter in the news section on www.kwase-kwaza.org. She asks what my plans are for World Aids Day on December 1 � well that�s a good question.

previous - next