Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-10-26 - 1:34 p.m.

As I was driving back from Leamington to Guildford tonight a rear tyre deflated � it was appalling whether and I imagine I was quite lucky only to have some trouble steering. Anyway I ended up in a motorway service area rummaging around in the car trying to work out what recovery arrangements came with it. Fortunately there was a sticker with a freefone number on it. The odd thing about the experience is the realisation that one was inadvertently closer to disaster than usual. I suppose that could be true a lot of the time � we are close to disaster but we are unaware. Its one of those umprovable suppositions that you cant let get out of hand.

The other thing that makes an impression is the realisation that one is an unplanned for situation and the process of reasoning a practical path out of it. That process doesn�t sit easily with the first set of reactions. And then some processes take over and sort things out � once one has realised what buttons to press.

I arrived back in Guildford to find that my sister was there to pick up Jake for his half-term holiday. James Vita and Yvonne are going to Tunisia for a week. She has just had a book published � about the local history of Bedfont, and Feltham � and she left a copy with us. She is retired but her profession was a local historian.

The new TV and DVD arrived � it looks very big. The attempt was to buy a package with minimal hassle � but needless to say in practice there have been rather too many glitches. It will change the dynamics of the household. As the children grew up they each retreated into their own rooms with their own TVs. The quality on this one is coaxing them back down into the main living space.

I saw Peter Chatterton briefly yesterday. He dropped off an A3 laminated panel that he had made for display at Cleveland�s recital � they look really good. He mentioned that the usage stats for the Kwase-Kwaza site were back. I had a look this morning we are still operating on a pulse and base-line pattern rather than a postive growth rate. The baseline seems to be about 100 visitors a week on average. Peter thinks that the aggressive pursuit of links is the answer � he may well be right.

I was listening to a discussion last night on Radio 3 last night about high culture in a populist culture � there were a few disparaging remarks about the easiest of musical minimalism � in some instances. Hmmmmmm.

An e-mail came in from the Mela Foundation publicising a recital by New York�s premiere microtonal guitarists. I followed a link to mp3.com. Sounds very promising.David Beardsley is the name and the music is on mp3.com. This is the first time I have used that site.>

I have two contending mixes of AP � one has just listened to has a rather fruity synth in the lead which reminds me of an Amiga patch I used to use. The other retains the contribution from a young Wynton. This mix sounds strangely considered � all things considered.

I have started work on something which starts from a 14C anonymous English canon � I think we will probably play the canon next week at WATCH.

Must despatch the CD to Gilbert.

previous - next