Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-10-25 - 9:22 a.m.

Has Adam Postgate found rest or is he on an eternal cycle of change � only time will tell. He has migrated from Cubasis to Cubase-Go which seems to have the effect of transferring the virtual space to a New York loft � where possible different factions of Minmalists � the old guard of Riley-ists are confronting the upstart Adams. Today�s silly thought is that maybe he can be a character from a forgotten George Elliot novel who got out of control and wouldn�t conform with his creators sense of moral duty .

Anyway Adam P is now bottled in a WAV which I am listening to � it sounds as if Miles might have stolled into the loft. Or maybe it�s a young and impressionable Wynton on his way to neo-classicism � whoops no they�ve gone again and now the Four Organists have shown up with their brand new Yamaha DX7s � maybe I�ll have to date this performance about 10 years later � but I am beginning to hear the Grateful Dead influence. Maybe its time for another dose of Anthem for the Sun. And I can see this piece being a vehicle for a Dhorn and gtr duet. No question about that � polyrhythmic and polytonal

I actually like the idea of having a process which exists in the black and white world of software and ends up sounding like a band jamming.

The Automotive Summit gets front page in the business section of the Birmingham Post. There�s a picture of Graham, my boss, Alan Jones who Vita and I met at the Royal Academy Summer Ex, Alan Johnson the Min who used to be in some 60s pop group or other and John Cush who is the head of Nissan UK � so I will take it home to see what she makes of it. The Bham Post might be for me � it is a daily and has quite a lot of music reviews because of the NEC and the CBSO.

Yvonne James and Vita are off to Tunisia tomorrow � maybe I will use some of the time to explore the Fosse Way � more realistically I think I will be working on projects. I need to get my head around these 8 arrangements that I have to do. Adam has kept me away from these. I am glad Robin has connected with with Peter on the new CD venture � it was nice of her to put that plug in her diary yesterday about the project.

I have been listening to Bartok SQs for a bit � but just now it�s the Miles Davis group live in the 1980s � I remember it well. I cant see how some people that this band want part of the tradition .

Maybe I need to look at my sleeping arrangements here in Leamington to see if I can get more of it. It seems to be that I sleep heavily in Guildford and lightly in Birmingham.

I have started circulating some ideas in IF � 10 suggestions about the course I went on � also a proposal on how to take forward the evidence collected at the big event yesterday. I think in order to carry stakeholders it needs to be put in framework which acknowledges other parts of the landscape.

Next week I will open the MIDI archive again and something will pop out for abuse/development � I wonder what it might be? Possibly something I picked up in Prague ?

previous - next