Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-10-24 - 10:56 a.m.

I bumped into Sefton tonight as I left the office. I got to know him best on the trips to Tokyo that I did with Graham and Arthur who are the main figures in the organisation I now work for. We used to go to Tokyo to negotiate with the Japanese equivalent of the organisation I now work for � it is called JAMA. The purpose was to get JAMA to continue to loan the UK their Master Engineers. This loan is about to come to an end. Anyway Sefton as a lawyer was on the team and he would be part of the merry crew that went out each night and explored the curious delights of Japanese nightlife. Ah those were the days � who knows if we�ll ever get another crack like that. So of course I had to say hullo. The Master Engineers have now trained a cardre of young UK engineers in their strange ways and magic � that was what I got a flavour of last week on the course. This afternoon I saw the massed ranks of these engineers for the first time and an awesome sight it is too. Tomorrow is the opening day of the UK Motorshow at the NEC � and there is an Automotive Summit being put on by this organisation with some 200 or more delegates. The engineers are each assigned to a group of delegates on a table. Each table is sponsored by a major automotive organisation operating in the UK who is the host. Each table except for the one which I host which is made up of notforprofit organisations � The Learning and Skills Council, the Production Engineering Research Association, Accelerate, the Engine and Marine Training Association. Fortunately I know a bit about each of them and am keen to deepen my contacts. This afternoon I went to the meeting in the NEC where the engineers were briefed by the leading engineers on this project as to what they have to do. Apparently the best way of briefing the engineers is to get the other engineers to do it. I began to see why this is as the questions came up. Maybe you are beginning to get the picture. Anyway we have to be at the NEC tomorrow morning to welcome our guests at 8.00pm with white shirts and sober ties and of course clean shoes. The new piece is called Adam Postgate � you don�t want to know why and it has come into being unreasonably fast � I think I must have started it on Sunday night and now I am listening to it through repeatedly to try to work out what I make of it. I am getting to the point where I am really reluctant to discuss my working methods. I have however thought of some guidelines which I might give Gilbert on how to work with it if it takes his fancy. I listened through today to the lines I was thinking of sending to Mark as part of BBC 500 and decided that they weren�t clean enough. They sound OK as an ensemble so it turns out but this is not how they are meant to be used on that piece. Peter Chatterton sent some amazing artwork through for the Cleveland recital � he has taken material from the KK site and put it into an A3 document which he can print and laminate. Its very impressive indeed. I continued to work on my 10 things to do � and knocked off a few more. The new piece goes at 141 bpm and is about 120 bars long and so I suppose it is around three and a half minutes � that seems to be my length � sometimes I get up to 6 minutes but not that often. North of Watford Sainsburies sells mild beer in cans � maybe they do in Gfd and I don�t notice it.

I spent some time today engaged in grimy financial details which I will spare you.

There is a yearning about Adam Postgate which seems for reasons I can�t understand ends on the up.

previous - next