Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-10-19 - 11:52 p.m.

I was very tired by the end of the week and in fact had difficulty launching myself on the drive home. I collapsed into bed and slept for about 10 hours which is a long time by my standards.

All this process improvement has made me realise that I have been neglecting the Minidisc phase of my production process. The fact that it might be superceded by maybe mp3s is neither here nor there - an improvable process is an asset which needs to be treated as such rather than neglected. I also have quite a powerful MD-based postproduction rig which is very much an asset as well. At the moment the fixed points in the production sequence are a Cubase Go file and an MD recording � I really need to sharpen up on the documentation of the MD phase or I will lose some bits and pieces that I might regret.

Two projects need attention this weekend. I have to get a band together for a gig in two weeks� time. Given the kind of music that is required this is just about feasible � but a lot of people don�t seem to be available so I have to think more widely about possible participants.

There is also a lot to do just now for Cleveland�s recital. The press notice development process has kicked in � just about before its too late. Tonight Rachel will be selling tickets/programmes which I produced and copied yesterday. I have asked Derek if he will be free to take some photos and Peter is going to have a crack at recording it live � he has a background as an acoustics engineer and a nice little portable DAT.

I have started making a CD for Gilbert � he has mailed to say that he is finishing off one to come to me. Mine will have mixes of the four tracks that came off the last CD I sent � plus material to look at as the basis of other possible works � some of this arises from BBC500, there are three Fifths derived pieces two � one of which has arisen in the past 10 days or so. Another is Upfifths � one of the rare pieces that came to be in the mind before it came to be in software.

Yvonne and I went to a World Premiere tonight � a play in its first run ever before it goes to the National Theatre � gloriously pomo � about the life of David Garrick. Maybe I will write more about it tomorrow.

I haven�t been able to post much on www.kwase-kwaza.org news section until today when a mail came in from a newsgroup I belong to with two elements � one a speech by a top person in UNAIDS about the next countries likely to experience the pandemic � another asking for money to treat a woman in Harare who has been a major force in AIDS care there and is now seriously ill.

previous - next