Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-10-09 - 7:03 a.m.

The technology I have in Leamington is less advanced than in GFD - an older PC much slower but with a soundcard I really like plus a Roland SoundCanvas softsynth which is quite well documented. I also have about four years worth of MIDIs - both sketches and reasonably complete pieces.

I have been given a portable to be getting on with - I was wondering about loading Cubase Go onto it but decided against it. Even though thats the vehicle that I have been working in quite intensively especially over the last month.

Anyway I thought it was time to start looking at something - and near the top of the list is a post Fifths sketch which I played through and quite like even though I couldn't remember how it was made. But I do remember why - the original Fifths was made on the CZ101 and involved some patch edittimg which is quite easy on that machine cos it is so old - but not so easy on more modern boxes.

I decided in this sketch to see if I could get related acoustic effects by using existing uneditted patches - at the moment it is playing off the Roland - because I have more information about the GS interface.

I am still on the Reich section of Potter's book - but I have left my copy of Four Organs in GFD - one has to accustom oneself to this I am sure. This sketch seems to be a bit in that area in that its about long duration chords which start and finish at different points. Also it opens witha dominant 11th chord on E - which is the 4 organs chord. Mine is built from 5ths E and then C# and D - its an interesting format. Anyway thats the opening fanfare and then it works to an initial theme in C on a major 7th which side steps into Bmajor G# minor. Thats as far as I have reconstructed the piece apart from a bit of recklessness at the end.

previous - next