Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-10-06 - 11:48 a.m.

Got the keys to the new flat in Leamington - discovered an all nite Tesco 2 blocks away - that is real progress. I found manhandling my possessions into the place harder work than I expected. Anyway at least I have got my old PC set up. The rig has a switchable MIDI in one of which has a simple keyboard � the other is for the Dhorn. There�s a 1 to 4 MIDI out as I have a number of tone boxes with me � the audioout goes into a little Phonic mixer with a fair amount of switching and then I am monitoring on the amp-speakers that came with the PC about 7 years ago. They sound better than they did � probably because they are further apart. Anyway I feel quite happy working with the rig. I also have my Tascam cassette portastudio and the Behringer Vamp � primarily for reverb and valve coloration. I listened to early Steve Reich pieces � Piano Phase is really good. There is such an interesting transition from Reilly to Reich at this point � from a free flowing approach to form to a much more rigorous one. It motivates me to want to do more Music for 2 Pianos. As a basic form the WAVfile has a lot of possibilities in it. I can see this being the basis of a series of works. I enjoyed the Skempton piano CD too. E-mail from Gilbert � he has so many interesting projects under way. Last night we went to see One Hour Photo � more Robin Williams as a baddy. I thought he was very convincing. The moral trajectory of the plotline was excellent � good twists on several levels. More packing today � so many books I fancy taking.

previous - next