Iain Cameron's Diary
"Click here to access the Fruitful Album" - Click here to visit Music for the Highveld Project


The Highveld Project

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2002-10-04 - 8:19 a.m.

I went to Cranfield for a meeting to look at the scope for including some ergonomics tools in the process improvement activity that Industry Forum delivers. The meeting seemed to go well and there was a genuine enthusiam to see if the general feeling that there ought to be some benefit in putting these two things together could be turned into a specific test case. Peter had made some good enquiries with Ford on how their approach factors in ergonomics.

On the way back through London I decided to look at the Barnet Newman exhibition at the Tate Modern � probably my last chance to do this for a while � and indeed my first visit there. BN didn�t strike me as samey or single idea merchant at all. In fact I thought the later paintings were different and better. I enjoyed the solemnity the calm and the drama. Well worth a visit � the first retrospective in 30 years. I bought a French view of how the New York School of painters came about � a cultural analysis � but only about the visual arts.

I started to reflect on all the bits and pieces of music that has come into being in the last few weeks. I think it would help to make a CD just for myself as a document of record � excuse the pun. So I can get perspective on the stuff and reach a conclusion about how much of it I am going to take forward. There are various of these I have scattered around and it has been useful in the past to go back and remind myself about a particular phase of activity. This phase is going to change � simply because the tools which I will have to hand are going to alter.

Working my way through Potter and the Mins I am now onto Reich � a really different personality from his two predecessors � much more systematic and �professional� � a kind of DEC minimalist. There are so interesting details of some early unrecorded work � a piece with nine five or six note chords for example. The pieces which Potter spends a lot of time on include Its Gonna Rain and Piano Phase. I played PP last night � not the original recording � I have to admit its pretty good.

previous - next